top of page
Search
  • gennalbruns

My Specific Design Style

Updated: Jan 8, 2022

Have you ever just thought what you're own design style would be if you were able to built your dream house? Even though I am a fourth-year interior design student at NDSU, I believe I have just figured out my design style for my future home. When I picture my forever home, I would like a modern Victorian style home. Subtle, Victorian architecture with modern and comfortable furniture. For the exterior, I want all brick with black windows including black fascia and soffit. I don't know exactly what brick I want yet. That decision is going to take me awhile to decide. I believe that all brick exterior creates a timeless look, since that is my overall goal. To create a timeless design in my home, I am leaning towards the curled arches, natural stone accents, lots of contrast, and natural light. It will be nature inspired and comfortable.

I need a house that is going to grow with my future family and I that brings me to the interior of the home. Little details that I would like to include are a stone arch over the oven in the kitchen, detailed molding, walk in pantry, freestanding tub, dog wash area in the mudroom or garage, light colored floors, and a bar area. I have been thinking more and more about black and white tile flooring. I don't know where I would like the location to be but I love the idea. Below I have listed some of the key features I hope to incorporate in my future home.

This is an example of the brick that will be over the oven. I would not like the red brick. I want to do a brick that is a light tone that would go together with other dark woods, and white.







I have this idea for a 1/2 bath. I think the checkered floor would be a great staple piece. I am still deciding if it should be glossy clean and a timeless-aged finish.







This picture shows the contrast that I want to replicate. I love the idea of having a section of the kitchen darker. I am thinking of doing the perimeter cabinets in the kitchen this dark-navy blue. The island will be white or dark walnut.








Nature is clearly being represented in these finishes. These are the accents that I want throughout the design.











I would love the have these wall moldings in an office. If the space is larger like a living room, I would only want one rectangular molding on the entire wall. I believe a little amount of molding can go a long way.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page